a not so food-blogging friendly week

so, I’ve been detoxing.. and I’ve been eating, um, nothing. unless you count 3-4 ltrs of water and regular clay and psyllum husks as food (I kinda don’t), it has not been very exciting for food blogging, that’s for sure! it certainly does not lend itself to pretty photography.

but I broke my fast on Tuesday afternoon (6th day), with some vege broth, and although it may not seem very exciting, a bowl full of fresh vegetables and their cooking liquid gave an indescribable pleasure. when fasting, many people find that their sense of smell is heightened, and I certainly do. I could smell all the individual veges, tastewise the sweetcorn was amazingly sweet, and the parsley almost meaty. it was one of the most delicious things I’ve ever eaten!

although I was not truly hungry until the nighttimes of day 4 and 5, I started to crave (like really crave, not just think how nice it would be to eat) veges. I thought about them, and could almost taste them.. needless to say, I was very happy to be eating this steaming bowl!

vegebroth.jpg

fasting is not for everyone, but I think truly taking the time to appreciate the taste of food is so important, and sometimes the simplest, most unadorned things are the most pleasurable.. and I hear you say why, pray tell, did I need detoxing? here’s proof: me pigging out on chorizo at an Italian festival at Five Dock the other weekend!

eating-chorizo.jpg

Leave a Reply

