Papaya Museli Boats

150×150whblogging15.jpgIt’s the weekend again, and I’m being organised and Weekend Herb Blogging for the second week in a row. I is so good. WHB round up over at this week’s host, Katie at Thyme for Cooking, the Blog.

So what have I made? Well, I cheat a little. I didn’t actually make this. Benwah made this. you know what else? I didn’t actually eat this. Benwah and Tom ate this. Does it still count? I think so. Cos it’s damn cute! I was there, and I did take the photos, and it was in my (ok ok, our) kitchen, so that is kindasorta like me making and eating it, right? Ok, maybe not, but you should make it, it’s super easy and if you’re into Papaya then it’s just too sweet. I am not even going to post a recipe, I think you can figure it out!🙂

papaya-boat-full.jpg

Are you into papaya? not sure? wanna know more? ok then. Papayas are also known as Papaw or Paw Paw, and there are heaps of varieties. apparently the two main types are differentiated into Papaw (yellower, rounder) and Papaya (redder, thinner) I never knew that, I thought there were just two names, you know like courgette and zucchini.

I’ve never been a fan (which is why I am the documenter, rather than eater here), although I do like the red style now my tastes have matured a bit. They grow all over the tropics, so maybe it was also living in the tropics that warmed me to them. Here is a really beautifully put together Australian Papaya Industry website, which gives you all the specifics on how good they are for you, plus some other ideas on how to serve, and interesting information. check it out, but you have to promise to try our “recipe” first!

DIY: Papaya can also be used as a skin exfoliator, as it is very high in fruity enzymes which help remove old skin (you know like those expensive creams with AHAs). So long as you don’t have sensitive skin, just mash the flesh, and slather on OR, once you’ve scooped out the flesh to eat, just rub the inside of the skins on yourself, before rinsing well. Umm, maybe do this in the shower.

papaya-boat-empty.jpg

Papaya are usually super-cheap and abundant in the tropics, but in 2006, Queensland was hit by Cyclone Larry, (we were there) and many tropical fruit growers lost their crops and orchards. Our favourite friendly garden market stall holders, the Ho Brothers, usually grow and sell a lot of Papaya and Papaw, and they lost a large percentage of the season’s crop that would normally be sent ‘down south’ to Sydney and Melbourne etc.

I’m sure it lost them a lot of money, and many banana and other fruit growers went out of business because of the losses sustained. Banana prices in Australia soared from a usual AUS$2/kg to up to AUS$13/kg. luckily Papaya was less inflated, still everyone complained, but many people, lovely passionate foodies and growers like the Hos, lost a whole season’s income, and still had to re-plant, rebuild, basically starting again from scratch.

The Ho Brothers also stopped coming into town for the Sunday markets, and I didn’t see them again before I left Townsville. Goodbye Calvin, Kaye, Peter and co! I hope your gardens and orchards are recovering! See you next time! (some Ho Bros links just added, thnx Rob!)

9 thoughts on “Papaya Museli Boats

  1. Mon mari’s family love papaya but I have never really developed a taste for it…maybe I should try again with more ‘mature’ taste buds😉
    You’re right, it is damn cute!

  2. mmm. i love paw paw. we used to have a tree and ate them all growing up. i’ve been seeing recipes lately where people are toasting the seeds, never heard of that before have you? this one looks delicious!

  3. Hi Katie, I think it definitely is one of those ‘ickier when you’re a child’ foods (like mushrooms, eggplant etc).

    hei Aria, yeah, I have read about people drying / toasting the seeds (the Australian Papaya website called it papaya pepper) I wonder what it’s like? will have to give it a go one day – adding it to the list LOL!

  4. Paw Paw (Pow Pow movement for all Ragga /HipHop Fans) rocks!

    Its also great for meat marinade (makes it tender and soft, used often in Asian cuisine)!
    Much too expensive in Europe and not as delicious as in North QLD!
    mmmhhh……………..!

  5. Kalyn and Kiki – I do feel for all you northern hemisphere-ites now (also especially as we are gearing up for a really beautiful Sydney summer, and I no longer have to be jealous of your summer) – and fresh fruit and vege is super-cheap in Oz, and yeah, we were very spoiled in North QLD!

Leave a Reply

