NZ – Far North and then Orewa.

I’m in hospital for my knee surgery tomorrow, so before I’m off again, here’s the other foody things we ate in NZ.

We drove ‘Up North’, where we had massive amounts of massive green lipped mussels, marinated artichokes from mama’s garden, fresh smoked tuna, and fish and chips from the world famous Mangonui Fish Shop, followed by a cone of goody-goody-gum-drops icecream. mmmm. we ate lots more on top of that too, and I also didn’t photograph everything, but here are a few pics.

mussels.jpg

artichokes.jpg marinated-aritchokes.jpg

mangonui.jpg

fp.jpg

freshly caught, battered and cooked tarakihi, chips and a chilled glass of cab sav.

on the way back down to Auckland we stopped in at Orewa and went to Waiwera hot pools with my cousin Chris and second cousin Grayson, 11, who took this sweet pic of me underwater.

hotpool.jpg

oh, about those cookies. they were milk chocolate and macadamia, and I’ll do the photos and recipe thing when I’m out of hospital. they are too easy to eat.

6 thoughts on “NZ – Far North and then Orewa.

  1. oh my god zo, that all looks/reads divine….

    let me know how it goes – hope you fly through it. loads of love and thoughts from Storrs!!

  2. Hi! I didn’t know you’d been home – how cool! How is everyone?? Nice pic of you, Minerva and grandad! I wish I could go for a quick wee tour home too…. Ah well not long till I get to go and hang in Norge – yay! So, how are you and the new and improved knee doing? Getting well acquainted? xx

  3. oooh look you had the mussels recently too! i would definitely love the north- you hit all my sweet spots, fried fish, mussels, artichokes and ice cream. nz here i come! all looks fantastic. good luck on knee surgery…

    -aria

Leave a Reply

