Spinach and Fetta Rolls

theme song for today’s post: (click the link to listen) AC/DC : It’s a Long Way to the Shop if You Want a Spinach Roll.

Whaddaya mean, those aren’t the words? ok, you’re right, it should be sausage roll, it’s true. But today this version is very apt, because the inspiration for making spinach and fetta rolls came from the amazing ones we ate at the Beechworth Bakery in North Eastern Victoria. Which really is a long way to the shop – about 7 hours drive!

We stopped in at Beechworth on the car convoy back from our summer holiday in Bright, Victoria, having read about Beechworth Bakery in Australian Gourmet Traveller. Some of us may have been feeling a little under the weather (look, there are a lot of wineries in that part of Victoria, OK?) and the delicious spinach and fetta roll perked me right up. It was, even through the hangover, the absolute best spinach and fetta roll I have ever eaten (and as a former vego, I have eaten plenty!). They sold out, and I waited until the next batch came out of the oven and brought another one for the car (the car didn’t want it, so I ate it. boom-tish!). So not surprisingly, I was keen to try and recreate them a bit closer to home.

I used the cheater’s puff pastry recipe I found over at the lovely Cook & Eat. Cheat sounds like my kind of puff pastry. And it is SO easy.

the filling: crushed garlic, finely chopped onion, sauted, then chopped English spinach added to the pan just to wilt. Into a bowl, then add crumbled fetta, some cottage cheese, salt, pepper, nutmeg. This mixture was quite sticky, so I didn’t add egg, but one could.

Roll pastry into longish strips, fill, roll pastry around filling, with sealside ending up down, and cut into portions. I gave the tops of the rolls a milk wash, and sprinkled with sesame seeds. I made small rolls, and baked for ~25 mins @ ~180 degrees C.

spinachfettaroll.jpg

The pastry was lovely and flakey, and the filling was tasty, but to be honest these were no comparison to the Beechworth Bakery’s ones. I’ll try making them again, but if you’re ever in Beechworth, I recommend the spinach and fetta rolls, hangover or no!

3 thoughts on “Spinach and Fetta Rolls

Leave a Reply

