cracking the nut

I was cracking the last of my bag of Bright walnuts for a pesto the other day, and as anyone who has cracked a pile of nuts before knows, it can get a bit meditative. I like to start trying to crack my walnuts so to leave the nutmeat whole, which believe me, is delicate work! Well, as delicate as possible with a hammer and a bloody hard shell to remove. It is pretty rare to get them out, so here is evidence of a (mostly) successful attempt!

walnut2.jpg

In the spirit of disclosure, I have put the missing lobe section at the front, I hope that wasn’t the lobe responsible for deliciousness!

The pesto and accompanied handmade pappardelle coming soon! (when Tom downloads the pix from the Nikon)

3 thoughts on “cracking the nut

Leave a Reply

