Broccoflower, roasted

I was sent a gorgeous bouquet last week. A Broccoflower!

pretty!

Perfection Fresh sent me this wee baby to try out… It’s a cross between a broccoli and a cauliflower (If you couldn’t already work that one out). It has the tightly-packed smoother florets of a cauli, but is crazy BRIGHT lime green. I’ve seen soething like this in the shops before but with much pointier florets, really alien looking, but this dude was cute and round. Very friendly.

This was a timely arrival. I love cruciferous veges – cauliflower broccoli, cabbage, kale, brussel spouts! Bok choi etc etc.. Yum, and autumn is these veges time to shine. Maybe it’s because as it gets chillier I just don’t want a cold salad, but I still want some GREEN on my plate.. and these guys just lend themselves to a light cooking – roasting, steaming – and a drizzle of tasty sauce or just a drop of olive oil, a squeeze of lemon juice. Warm but not heavy.

chop, toss, roast

So I sadly/excitedly unwrapped my beautiful bouquet and chopped this dude up, snapped/trimmed two bunches of asparagus (yeah, not exactly seasonal, so hello carbon footprint, but they were on sale at the grocers!) in a large shallow baking dish toss the lot through with a drizzle of olive oil, a couple of whole, lightly-bashed cloves of garlic, a sprinkling of salt, and into a hot oven for 10-15 mins.

roasted, green

I love that it stays so brightly green even cooked, and especially lightly roasted like this, it was sweet, flavourful and crunchy. There are more and more of these hybrid and blended or heirloom fruits and veges becoming available in the supermarkets, and I think a lot of them are really great both to eat and look at. Have an adventure on your plate. Even when winter is coming.

(Remains of the stem, and the whole baked garlic cloves if you can manage not to eat them there and then, go into the vege off-cuts ziplock in the freezer, for soup stock making later – yes, I am gearing up for winter!)

thanks for the trial Produce Fresh! Hello puku readers! oh hai! I have such an archive of photos from Spain and other adventures to start posting.. see you back here soon.🙂

Leave a Reply

